Atelier Lise ~Alchemist of O'ldor~ OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: KDSD-10020
Released On: March 21, 2007
Composed By: Eri Arakawa, Miyoko Takaoka
Arranged By: Eri Arakawa, Miyoko Takaoka, Akihiro Jyuichiya
Published By: Team Entertainment
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD
Buy this CD from VGM World

01 - Treasure
02 - Ok! Let's Begin ☆
03 - Sparkling ☆ Atelier
04 - The Princess is an Alchemist
05 - A Nap in the Library
06 - Steadfast Bonds
07 - Afternoon Tea Time
08 - Let's Pray
09 - The Royal Castle Throne Room
10 - The Great Sage
11 - Pop Shuffle
12 - Wind Cutter
13 - The Fairy's Parade
14 - The Morning Glow
15 - A Beach Resort Feeling
16 - Looking Up at the Magnificent Waterfall
17 - Breath of Antiquity
18 - Embraced in the Bosom of Nature
19 - The Dying Earth
20 - An Epic Battle for Fast Money
21 - Today is the Fair
22 - Defiance to the Challenge
23 - Wow!
24 - Isn't it Strange?
25 - Surely So Many Tears...
26 - Yikes!?
27 - I'm Shocked!
28 - Heart-Pounding Tension
29 - A Solemn Moment
30 - Knife Edge
31 - Fragments of Memories
32 - Open the Music Box
33 - We'll Meet Again on that Hill
34 - Carried in the Spring Breeze
35 - Jewelry Box of Happiness
Total Time:

Atelier Lise is a handheld installment (Nintendo DS to be specific) and black sheep of Gust's alchemy-laden series. What makes it the "black sheep?" For starters, the soundtrack isn't composed by any of the regulars. It isn't even done by any noteworthy composers at all! Eri Arakawa and Miyoko Takaoka came out of the woodwork to score this little offshoot of the Atelier franchise. Did they do a good job? Well...yeah. They did alright, considering what they were up against.

This isn't the Gust music we know and love, but it is decent, particularly for a DS soundtrack. The opening vocal theme may trick people into thinking they know what they're in for, but the rest of the OST tells no lies. There are a couple of stellar themes on the album, but much of it falls to the wayside. Among the songs I liked are "Knife Edge" (a battle theme, I assume) and "The Great Sage." The melodies are strong and surprisingly catchy.

This soundtrack was also printed alongside some other handheld Gust tunes in a three disc set. Personally, I'd recommend going all out if you're going to get this 2nd-rate music at all. However, if your tastes differ from mine and you are somehow brought to a state of awe by these DS tunes, then maybe this one disc version is for you.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Coming Up on Twitch

Final Fantasy XIV Patch 4.1
Sunday, October 15 • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age
Mondays • 6pm PDT/9pm EDT

Vandal Hearts
Tuesdays • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT

Tues-Wed-Thu and Saturdays • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Featured Content
South Park: The Fractured but Whole Review
South Park: The Fractured but Whole
Etrian Odyssey V: Beyond the Myth Review
Etrian Odyssey V: Beyond the Myth
Pillars of Eternity: Complete Edition Review
Pillars of Eternity: Complete Edition
Random Encounter 134
Random Encounter 134
Bad Apple Wars Review
Bad Apple Wars
Retro Encounter 104
Retro Encounter 104