Final Fantasy IV Official Soundtrack: Music From Final Fantasy Chronicles

[back cover]
Catalog Number: TPCD 0210-2
Released On: August 21, 2001
Composed By: Nobuo Uematsu
Arranged By: Nobuo Uematsu, Shirou Satou (45)
Published By: Tokyopop Soundtrax
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - The Prelude
02 - The Red Wings
03 - Kingdom of Baron
04 - Theme of Love
05 - Prologue
06 - Welcome to Our Town!
07 - Main Theme of Final Fantasy IV
08 - Battle 1
09 - Fanfare
10 - Enter Fat Chocobo!
11 - Chocobo Chocobo
12 - Into the Darkness
13 - Battle 2
14 - Bomb Ring
15 - Rydia
16 - Damcyan Castle
17 - Sorrow and Loss
18 - Edward's Harp
19 - Mt. Ordeals
20 - Fabul
21 - Run!
22 - Suspicion
23 - Golbez, Clad of Darkness
24 - Hey, Cid!
25 - Mystic Mysidia
26 - A Long Way to Go
27 - Palom & Porom
28 - Battle with the Four Fiends
29 - The Airship
30 - Troian Beauty
31 - Samba de Chocobo!
32 - Tower of Babil
33 - Somewhere in the World...
34 - Land of Dwarves
35 - Giott, King of the Dwarves
36 - Dancing Calbrina
37 - Tower of Zot
38 - The Land of Summons
39 - Lunar Whale
40 - Another Moon
41 - The Lunarians
42 - Within the Giant
43 - The Final Battle
44 - Epilogue
Bonus Track
45 - Theme of Love (Arranged)
Total Time:

A few years ago when FF Chronicles was released, I picked up the FFIV soundtrack that was sitting on shelf beside it. It was the best CD I've ever bought for $9.99. This album is basically a domestic release of the Japanese OST, with one bonus track, which is a wonderful piano arrangement of "Theme of Love," performed by Toshiyuki Mora. While I really don't like Tokyopop, I simply adore this release.

Every song in the game is here. And they sound really good. One of the things I was afraid of was that this CD would have bad sound quality, but I wasn't farther from the truth. For a SNES era soundtrack, this OST sounds amazing. You'll appreciate it even more when you pop it in your stereo with Dolby Surround Sound. I can't say enough about the sound quality of this CD. It's that good. And when you realize that there are some truly great masterpieces on this CD, that makes the experience all the better. Inspiring tracks like "Theme of Love," "The Main Theme," and "Troian Beauty" will make you fall in love with this OST all over again. Fan favorites such as "Battle with the Four Fiends" and "Final Battle" will make you want to grab a sword and start saving the world (in my opinion, "Final Battle" is the best final battle theme to ever grace an RPG). Also, the FF series' staple songs, "Prelude," "Samba de Chocobo," and "Fanfare" are here in all their nostalgic glory.

What really sells this CD is the arranged version of "Theme of Love." The original version was my favorite track on the album, and I can safely say that this is my favorite arrangement of the piece. Toshiyuki's gentle, soothing piano skills make this track worth the entire price of admission. This track was also on the FFIV Piano Collection, but it really shines here. Check it out.

There is one major problem with this OST, though. Some of the tracks do not loop twice. Considering that Tokyopop directly ported this OST over from the Japanese OST (which was handled by NTT Publishing), I can understand why they didn't make this a two-disc release, and I don't really think it's their fault. But, hearing my favorite songs fade away after one round isaggravating, to the say least.

If you can find this OST floating around online (or possibly at your nearest game retailer), you need to grab it. Seeing as FFIV has been the only full OST Tokyopop release in America by Nobuo Uematsu, this is a gem to have in your collection.

Reviewed by: Mike Wilson


Twitch Schedule & Status

Final Fantasy X | X-2 HD Remaster
Sunday, February 18 • 10am PST/1pm EST

Ōkami HD
Mondays • 6pm PST/9pm EST

Tuesdays • 12pm PST/3pm EST

Secret of Mana Remake
Thursdays and Fridays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Tales of Berseria
Tues-Wed-Thu • 7pm PST/10pm EST
Saturdays • 5pm PST/8pm EST

Featured Content
Retro Encounter 122
Retro Encounter 122
Monster Hunter: WorldReview
Monster Hunter: World
Path of Exile: Bestiary Preview
Path of Exile: Bestiary
Full Metal FuriesReview
Full Metal Furies
The Longest Five Minutes Review
The Longest Five Minutes
NieR: Automata Arranged & Unreleased Tracks Review
NieR: Automata Arranged & Unreleased Tracks
Labyrinth of Refrain: Coven of Dusk Hands-On Preview
Labyrinth of Refrain: Coven of Dusk
Hands-On Preview